2017 Colorado National Monument Plein Air Event

Plein Air Art Event

The 2017 Colorado National Monument Plein Air event is in the books!  For our first year, we had 22 artists from all over Colorado come to participate.  Artists were seen throughout the Colorado National Monument during the week of Oct 3-7 as they painted on site, creating wonderful pieces of art that reflected their translations of the beautiful scenery of the Monument.  Our judge this year was John David Phillips, an incredible artist living in the Grand Valley. His work can be seen at: www.johndavidphillips.com.

Below you will find the results of the award ceremony and photos of the event! All photos courtesy of our incredible volunteer Christine Gearhart.

 

 

 

 

 Honorable Mentions: Nancy Lewis, Amy Gibbs, Nancy Hutchison, Mark Akins

 

 

 

 

 

PHOTOS FROM THE EVENT:

2017 Participating Artists:

Jody Ahrens www.jodyahrens.com

Mark Akins www.markakinsart.com

Timothy K Brady

Maggie Cook www.maggiecook.com

Mary Pat Ettinger www.marypatettingerstudio.com

Amy Gibbs

Debi Hedges www.glasswoodartco.com

Doug Graybeal

Katherine Heister www.katherineheister.com

Nancy Hutcheson

Cedar Keshet www.cedarkeshet.com

Nancy Lewis www.nancylewisart.com

Dan Loge www.danloge.com

Bob Martin

Jason McCullough

Susan McKelvy www.suenmckelvy.com

Charles Morris www.charlesmorrisartstudio.com

David Mosier

Brooks Powell www.brookspowell.com

Lily Shanabarger

Richard Szkutnik www.richardszkutnik.com

Bob Tallarico www.theartbottega.com

2017 Sponsors:

JP Dental

Chuck and Robbie Breaux

Kannah Creek, Edgewater Brewery

Hot Tomato Pizza

Alpine Bank

Hilltop

Lithic Bookstore